Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hi (Read 874 times)
Akat
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Hi
Nov 13th, 2012 at 12:02am

My name is Amanda, I am 23 years old, and I recently graduated College with a BS in Psychology. I have suffered from Episodic CH for about 5 years now. Generally, My cycle starts sometime between November-January and lasts for about 2-4 weeks. I average from 1-7 attacks through out the day, starting with one right as I wake up in the morning. I don't have a lot of experience with attacks waking me up in the middle of the night, it only happens a few nights during the cycle. I have never met anyone who knows what CH is let alone suffers from it. This is my first time reaching out to others who understand and experience CH. My family and friends have been very supportive but they obviously don't understand the extent of the pain I go through during a cycle (even though I know they really do try to). I am worried about how I will transition from a college student who worked part time while in school and had a very flexible schedule (If I had an attack I would skip class or find someone to work for me) to a professional who works a inflexible 40hr/wk schedule.
I have not yet entered a cycle this fall, but I am dreading it since I have had a cycle every year around this time since 2007.
I haven't had very good luck with doctors concerning CH until recently. I was even told by my primary physician that going to a neurologist would just be wasting both of our time as my CH were not severe enough to warrant their attention. Today I met with a Neurologist who was truly understanding and helpful. I was prescribed verapamil (sumatriptan, and prednisone as plans B and C) so maybe with any luck this cycle with be nonexsistant (or at least more mild?)

IP Logged