Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie here but not new to CH (Read 702 times)
ihatech
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Tomball, TX
Newbie here but not new to CH
Sep 25th, 2012 at 4:09pm

I'm so happy to find this sight.  Dealing with CH feels lonely at times.  My husband is a chronic CH sufferer since 2008.  The only remission to speak of came in 2009, then they came back in 2010 and have continued since then.  He has had temporary relief from steroids, but only while taking them.  He uses O2 and sumatriptan injections as abortives.  Unfortunately, Verapamil over 240 mg has an untolerable side effect for him, so he only takes that dosage with cafergot once/day.  The neuro is suggesting DHE IV therapy.  Kinda scary with no guarantees of remission.  Does anyone have experience with this med?  I'm glad to know we're not alone, but sorry for the pain you all have been through.

IP Logged

Bob Johnson
CH.com Alumnus

"Only the educated are
free." -Epictetus

Kennett Square, PA (USA)
Re: Newbie here but not new to CH
Reply #1 - Sep 25th, 2012 at 4:41pm

I can't give you any statistics but my sense if that our folks who have tried DHE have ver mixed responses to report: usually effective but for rather short time and then return to attacks.

Suggest you print out the PDF file, below, and use to discuss options with your doc for preventives.

Curious only: when side effects with the Verap. Unfortunately for you, it's the most widely used preventive with high rates of safety and success.

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register (96 KB | 16 )

Bob Johnson

IP Logged

Guiseppi
CH.com Moderator
CH.com Alumnus

San Diego to Florida 05-16-2011

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA USA
Reply #2 - Sep 25th, 2012 at 6:35pm