Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cluster Cycle Seemed to End and then Start Again (Read 1275 times)
Alicia M.
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Cluster Cycle Seemed to End and then Start Again
Jul 25th, 2012 at 7:09pm

Hi everyone,
I have been a cluster headache sufferer for about 10 years now but this is my first time posting here.  I typically get them about every 2 years and they usually last about a month, give or take a week.  I used zomig rapidmelt tablets for most of the last 10 years until I was finally referred to a neurologist this year. For my most recent cycle that I'm in I have oxygen and I did a 10-day prednisone taper starting at 50mg for five days.
I have never had a cycle stop and then start again but that seems to be what is happening right now.  I began my cycle on June 14, 2012 and started the pred  a week later.  While on the pred I continued to get fairly severe headaches while simultaneously feeling like utter shite from the prednisone. It was awful.  Toward the end of the taper I experienced the most painful headaches I've ever had and they were unresponsive to all abortive measures. 
Shortly thereafter, I happened to pick up melatonin at the pharmacy and began taking 10mg before bed as recommended elsewhere on this site.  I saw a rapid tapering off of my headaches beginning a couple of days after finishing the pred and starting the melatonin.   I did not experience any headaches whatsoever for about two weeks (still taking the melatonin, but that's it). 
Suddenly this week I'm right back in cycle again.  This time on the other side of my head (although sometimes on both sides at the same time).