Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Oxygen mask? (Read 5063 times)
golden_buff
CH.com Newbie

x1|killbuck|USA|usa|421|131|OH,Ohio
Oxygen mask?
Jul 3rd, 2012 at 6:28pm

Got the oxy delivered today. Doc called for nonrebreather mask. Problem is I did not get it. Just a regular mask. No valves.
Can I cut the mask off and just use the hose till I get the right one?

IP Logged

soberman
CH.com Newbie

I woke up breathing today,
the rest is just lagnia

Re: Oxygen mask?
Reply #1 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 7:57pm

I'm new to the oxygen too, and it has been helping. My mask is a non rebreathing mask, but it has no valves. Are you sure it's supposed to? I had the tech check it for me and she insists it is correct. Either way, it is helping. You should have a regulator though. There is an adjustable valve on it. Keep me posted, I'd like to know.

IP Logged

Brew
CH.com Sponsor
CH.com Alumnus

Reply #2 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 8:02pm

Does it have a reservoir bag? If it has a bag and no valves, you're good to go. If not, make your own by cutting off the mask, cut a small hole in the corner of a large trash bag, tape the hose in the corner so the O2 fills the garbage bag, then tape off the open end of the bag with just a small opening in the opposite corner. Stick some kind of tube in there, tape around it to seal it, and voila, you have your own MacGuyver version of a non-rebreather.

Use it only until this arrives, because you're going to order one today:

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

"I have been asked if I have changed in these past 25 years. No, I am the same. Only more so."  --Ayn Rand

IP Logged

Skyhawk5
CH.com Alumnus

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Ypsilanti, Mi. USA
Reply #3 - Jul 3rd, 2012 at 8:39pm