Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
seven year itch (Read 911 times)
deliberate stranger
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

seven year itch
Feb 10th, 2012 at 1:01pm

Hello all,
   I'm pretty sure I've had this problem my whole life. As a youngster, I didn't have the intense pain, but every year, like clock work I would have "allergies" that only affected the left eye, with lots mucus draining from the left nostril, tearing etc.
   While working as a nurse, I would have episodes that curiously were relieved by about 4 teaspoons of liquid Motrin. After a few years, I changed careers, and beat my liquid Motrin problem (lol). Not being diagnosed, and with the episodes still tolerable, I started a business, operating heavy equipment.
    With this new responsibility came a time shift in those episodes, that seemed to have brought along a fiendish cohort. A new definition of torment I'd never before endured. Initially, dayquil gelcaps, if taken soon enough, would stop the episode. But if not taken soon enough.....frantic expeditious trip home, which was sometimes a frightening trip, try to drive, and cover one eye, and scream at all of the innocents who just happen to be on the road.
   One day, it was unbearable, nothing worked, Extra strength Tylenol along with dayquil gelcaps, Tylenol 3, maybe excedrin and anything else in the drug cabinet. Tried lying down, standing up, lights on, lights off, running water, hands under running water, head under running water, standing on head in the dark with water running....no relief.
  My wife drove me to the ER where I was introduced to ergotamine, and the Dx, "you have Cluster Headaches".