Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Despair (Read 6786 times)
Iago
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Despair
May 18th, 2010 at 9:52pm

I am forty-two years old and have had episodic clusters for twenty-eight years.  I am in the middle of my worst cycle yet and nothing that we are trying is working, and I am beginning to despair like I have never done before.  We keep switching medications and they keep breaking though.  Nothing is working to knock out the cycle.  I just started a new prednisone burst (the second one in the same cycle) to try to get some temporary relief while I am switching my other medications, but just had a cluster punch through the prednisone anyway, and that just about made a grown man cry.

I have had to stop exercising since that is triggering headaches, so all the triptans that I take are probably going to kill me anyway.  I have pumped as many drugs into my system in the past month as I can remember and it is not getting me anywhere.  Unfortunately, the lack of exercise is weakening me physically and mentally, and combined with the medications and the drain from clusters I am falling apart worse than I ever have before.

I do have a loving wife and family, but as I am sure that you all know there is nothing that they can really do to help.  They are suffering in their own way and I make them feel any better either.  My wife runs marathons and she had one out of town over Mother's Day weekend that I actually begged her to go to without me.  I wanted her to be able to do something for herself without seeing me suffer all weekend.  (As it turned out, I had one of my worst weekends ever, with eight headaches in a sixteen hour period the one night, and then I ended up driving myself to the emergency room on Mother's Day.)