Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hi all! (Read 1414 times)
MikeyPablo
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Phoenix, AZ
Hi all!
May 5th, 2010 at 12:55pm

Hello all, I'm a newbie that finally registered for this fantastic site.  My name is Michael and I've suffered from CH's since I was 27, I just turned 36 in March.  I've been CH free for a few years until about 3 weeks ago.  My Father recently passed away, which seems to have awakened the devil Cry.  My usual treatment is Imitrex 100mg pills and/or the stat pen.  I have recently tried Maxalt MLT, which worked ok, but the regular Maxalt pills do nothing.  Also, I've had O2 treatment for the first time at urgent care, which worked very well.

Last night I experienced the worst CH ever.  It started at about 10:30pm (normal time)...I took an Imitrex and for the first time in my life, it did nothing.  I waited 2 hours and took another one and ended up passing out sometime after 2am.  Imitrex has always worked very well for me and it scares the hell out me to know that there's a chance it won't work Sad

Well, I just wanted to say HI and introduce myself.  I'm very glad I finally registered and became part of your family Smiley

Michael

IP Logged

Bob Johnson
CH.com Alumnus

"Only the educated are
free." -Epictetus

Kennett Square, PA (USA)
Re: Hi all!
Reply #1 - May 5th, 2010 at 1:48pm

You didn't mention using a preventive med. Surely would consider one unless your cycles are dependably only 2-4 weeks long.

Sending a widely used protocol for the most often used preventive and see the PDF file below.
=========

Headache. 2004 Nov;44(10):1013-8.   

Individualizing treatment with verapamil for cluster headache patients.

Blau JN, Engel HO.