Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
A little unsolicted advice from an oldtimer... (Read 1922 times)
BarbaraD
CH.com Alumnus

Hugs to ya

Douglasville, TX
A little unsolicted advice from an oldtimer...
Feb 9th, 2010 at 1:28pm

I keep reading here about "how do I handle work and CH?"

Well, I'm an accountant and I very seldom miss any work (unless I'm playing and that don't count).

I'm also a chronic CHer and get hit regularly (daily). YOU can cope! My work is demanding and detail orientated and I've been coping for years.

How do you explain your condition? Very simply.  Example: Tomorrow I have an IRS audit at a client's office. I've spent days getting ready for it. The weather has suddenly changed and my head doesn't do well with weather changes, SO, I'm showing up at the audit with my O2 in the car and I will explain to the nice auditor that I have a chronic condition and if I get hit, I WILL leave without notice and go to the car to get rid of my headache and THEN when it's gone we will continue OUR business.

I've been hit during several audits and only once had my O2 handy and it was a fiasco a couple of times, but the IRS got a quick course in CH (not one they wanted repeated  Smiley).

One thing - I NEVER apologize for my condition - I cannot HELP it - I did not ask to have CH and I can't do a damn thing about it - it HURTS, but it happens. You just have to build up enough "self-confidence" to overcome the "ashamed" feeling that you're not perfect. You have a medical condition that you cannot help and other people do not understand and that's just a fact.

I know, you're saying, "That's easy for you to say!" No, it's not... it took a while to build up a tolerance to not giving a damn about what other people think.