Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
O2 Safety - Please read! (Read 1991 times)
Kilowatt3
CH.com Old Timer

1952 Jag

Lake Charles, Louisiana - USA
O2 Safety - Please read!
Apr 26th, 2009 at 10:50am

Friends,

It's great to see that so many CH'ers get such dramatic and effective relief with O2.  It seems, though, that there is very little posted regarding some important safety considerations when handling O2.  We've touched on the "No Smoking" rule on occasion, but did you know that many substances, particularly certain oils and greases, will spontaneously erupt into fire or even an explosion if they come into contact with pure o2?

I work in the chemical industry, and this week we received the following Safety bulletin - WARNING!  Graphic Image of Burn Injury - Viewer discretion advised!:

"SAFETY BULLETIN 1
COMPRESSED GAS SAFETY
Issued 09.02.2009 1
The following incident involved a welder who was adjusting the pressure on
an oxygen regulator.
The welder had oil on his hand and there was an oxygen leak from the hose
clamp.

Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register
Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register

General Precautions
Oxygen under pressure and hydrocarbons (oil and grease) can react
violently, resulting in explosions, fire and injury to personnel and damage to
property.
Never allow oil or grease to come into contact with oxygen under pressure.
SAFETY BULLETIN 1
COMPRESSED GAS SAFETY
Issued 09.02.2009 2
Even a small amount of hydrocarbon can be hazardous in the presence of
high oxygen concentrations. In fact, any organic matter in contact with oxygen
under pressure could have a violent reaction.