Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
CoQ10 (Read 2265 times)
wagwoman
CH.com Newbie

Only the dead have seen
the end of the war.-Plato

Emsdale, Ontario
CoQ10
Feb 28th, 2009 at 7:55pm

Good evening!

Please understand that I am a newbie.  Please understand that I haven't tried half of the meds or methods that most of the experienced CHers have.  Please understand that I know what works for one person may not work for another.

OK........having said all of that................

I would like to "share" with you my recent experience.

I have had attacks for the past 5 years..............on and off...........episodal................I had no idea what was happening to me.  I thought I was having problems with my right eye. About 8 months ago, I became chronic..........attacks 2 - 4 times per night; every night.   Last November (4 months ago), I was diagnosed.  Great!  I had a name for my 'beast'.

My neuro put me on Verapamil.  It was able to control my attacks...........minimize them.  It did not remove them totally, but the attacks were less severe, and less often.  It was SUCH a relief.

However, I have low blood pressure to being with.  The verapamil put me in a tailspin.  I was weak; sick; dizzy.  It was hard to judge whether I was having a reaction (Type 1 diabetic) or low blood pressure.  My neuro told me I would adjust to the medication, in time.

It didn't happen.  After 3 months, I had enough.  I had to get off Verapamil.  However, most of the other meds were NOT recommended for Type 1's. (lithium, etc............too much of a worry about renal problems).

Of course, the minute I started to reduce the verapamil, my attacks became more frequent, and more severe.  SIGH.

Oxygen is a GREAT abortive.  However............like all of us...........I would prefer a preventative.