Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Greetings from a longtime episodic (Read 1055 times)
clusterf__ked
CH.com Newbie

Board lurker/episodic
10+ years

Virginia
Greetings from a longtime episodic
Jan 3rd, 2009 at 11:40am

Hey there - a quick "hello" from a fellow episodic CH sufferer (10+ years)...My latest cycle has just decided to coincide with the new year, so I'm back in this terrible game.

My cycles have evolved from a reliable 12 month inactive interval during the first 5-7 years to a 14-15 month cadence over the last three years.  Each episode typically lasts 6-8 weeks, with an average of one CH per day, but sometimes I'm "lucky" and have only 3-4 per week.  I've been keeping a meticulous journal of my CH details since 2006, so here we go again.

I use nasal Imitrex as my front line abortive, and I'm a regular user of low dosage melatonin (1 mg off-cycle, 3-6 mg when in cycle).

My attacks have always been on the left side...for context, some medical history:

- "Mild" head injury and two cranio-facial surgeries about 10 years before my first cycle
- Severe tinnitus, primarily on the left side
- Diagnosed with moderate sleep apnea
- Benign venous angioma lesion in left frontal lobe
- Herniated cervical disc and general cervical disc disease, with most symptoms on left side

I've always been curious if any of my other "above the neck" issues issues are related to my CH.  I'm getting hooked up with an oral appliance for my sleep apnea, so it will be interesting to see if that has any impact at all.