Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Clusterheadaches.com

Search box updated Dec 3, 2011... Search ch.com with Google!
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegisterEvent CalendarBirthday List  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Mayo Clinic Web site on CH (Read 1295 times)
Keith Lee
CH.com Newbie

I Love CH.com!

Mayo Clinic Web site on CH
Oct 26th, 2008 at 2:47am

I was a bit peeved to read this from Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login or Register:

"In most cases headache pain, even severe headache pain, isn't the result of an underlying disease. In fact, the vast majority of headaches are primary headaches — headaches not caused by a specific medical condition. These include migraines, tension headaches and cluster headaches." (Emphasis added.)

I am no doctor, but I take strong exception to the asertion that CH (and migraine) are "not caused by a specific medical condition." Yes, the headaches are primary (i.e., they are not secondary to some other medical problem, such as a brain tumor), but I always thought CH was a specific medical condition.

Lumping CH, migraine and tension headache together doesn't seem horribly instructive. Thoughts?

I came across that page while looking for a good primer on CH for a friend of mine who just doesn't seem to get it. I really wish there was another name for the disorder that did not involve the word "headache," which is something everyone has experienced and is, like, no big deal, you know? It's like calling Crohn's disease an "upset tummy." Thoughts?

So this friend, who truly means well, says to me: "These seem to happen mostly when you're particularly stressed, right?"