Yet Another Bulletin Board

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 3rd, 2024, 6:58am

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Member Map Member Map Login Login Register Register
Clusterheadaches.com Message Board « Help for my Husband »

Clusterheadaches.com Message Board
   New Message Board Archives
   Medications, Treatments, Therapies 2002
(Moderator: DJ)
   Help for my Husband
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help for my Husband  (Read 487 times)
Jazsaunt

Email

Help for my Husband
« on: Jul 14th, 2002, 4:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am new to this sight and have actually learned quite a bit about CH from your message board.  My husband is about 3 weeks into his first bout.  Feels like we have been going through this a lot longer though. He has anywhere from 2-4 clusters a day.  I haven't found any patterns or triggers really except for the one that comes after REM sleep starts.  

Right now Bill (husband) is on 80 mg. of prednisone and 320 mg. of verapamil.  The verapamil I think helps stop them from becoming severe sometimes, but he feels so drugged, which I'm guessing is from the prednisone. He is always saying that his head feels so funny. He has a hard time keeping track of his medicine and seems really confused at times.  Not sure if that's from all of the pain and sleep disturbances or the medicine, heck maybe it's everything combined.  

They also started O2 yesterday.  He is on 8 liters up to 15 min. a time. The person who delivered the O2 said that he isn't actually getting 100% oxygen through this type of mask.  This morning it helped, but woke up 1 hour later with the pain starting again.  This happened twice before he decided to take the immitrex.  Does he need a different mask for this to work right?  The guy said something about a bag that is needed for 100% O2.